Skip to Content
Free Consultation 201-574-7919

New Jersey law enforcement in full effect for St. Patty's weekend


Planning on getting into a wee bit of shenanigans this St. Patrick’s Day weekend? Just make sure to also plan for a sober ride ahead of time, New Jersey law enforcement officials warn.

New Jersey State Police have announced that there will be extra enforcements on the roads this weekend in search of impaired drivers, which means driving home after a few too many green beers is not a risk work taking.

St. Patrick’s Day, which falls on Monday this year, is known as a time of revelry, but the fun can come to an immediate halt after being charged with drunk driving.

New Jersey has some of the nation’s toughest DUI penalties and a conviction can come with jail time, fines, surcharges, license suspension, increased insurance costs and a permanent mark on your driving record.

Even a first-time DUI conviction in New Jersey results in a three-month mandatory license suspension, and the state does not make any exceptions for driving to work or other commitments. If a driver’s blood-alcohol level was .10 percent or greater, the driver faces a one-year license suspension.

On a second DUI conviction, the driver faces a mandatory two-year license suspension as well as many other penalties, including a greater likelihood of jail time.

Drivers who are charged with a third DUI face losing their licenses for 10 years and mandatory jail time.

That’s why it’s important to speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer right after being charged who can investigate your case and stick up for your rights.

Of course, the best way to avoid a DUI and keep the luck of the Irish on your side is to not drink and drive in the first place.

Source: News 12, “New Jersey State Police ups road patrols St. Patrick's Day weekend,” March 14, 2014

Share To: